The Size of Our Hearts

February 11, 2008

“…’Amen I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’…” ( Matthew 25:40)

“Paaaan de saaal! Bili na po kayoooo!”

Those were the words which brought tears to our eyes one morning.

It was early on a Saturday morning two years ago when my wife and were having our usual weekend breakfast when our conversation brought us to our desire to do something for the streetchildren found all over the streets of Metro Manila. It was quite miraculous considering that the desire came to us at almost the same time. We were talking about putting up a “school-refuge” for streetkids when we heard from outside our gate the voice of a young boy who was selling pan de sal.

I gazed at my wife as I noticed that her eyes started to water. “That boy,” she began, “should be resting on a weekend…” Then she broke down.

I was myself in tears as I tried to comfort my wife. “I promise you,” I told her as I handed her a glass of water, “I will do everything I can, with the grace of God, so that one day we can do something for God’s poor children.”

Today, two years later, there is still no “school-refuge”. The children are still in the streets. That boy still sells pan de sal. Nothing much has changed. Except in our hearts…

For after two years, my wife and I are now decided more than ever to pursue our dream. We may not see it in the near future, but we are on our way there. 

In the meantime, we will do what we can in our own little way to help those in need.

Yesterday, we visited a member of our prayer group, the father of a dear friend, who has been confined in the Intensive Care Unit for over two weeks now.

Last night, we visited the wake of a member of our prayer group who passed away a few days ago.

This morning, I prayed hard for the child of a couple who was found to have abnormalities in his diaphragm. 

Later, I will be speaking before World Vision, one of the leading organizations giving educational scholarships to underprivileged children in this country.

Yes, our “school-refuge” isn’t there yet. Perhaps because the funds are not yet there. Or we still do not have the time. Or the network of people who can help is not yet in place. But that is no reason not to do what we can in our own little way to help those who are in need.

Friend, you need not look far today. Your officemate may need advice. Your neighbor may need company. Your classmate may need guidance. In whatever way we can, little it may be, let us give love to those who may need it most. 

For God, the size of our projects isn’t as important the size of our hearts. Even if your act cannot compete with the macro-economic impact of a “Gawad Kalinga”, but if you put your whole heart into what you do for one beggar, God will be satisfied. Why? Because a 50 Million Peso donation and a caring embrace to one streetchild when both done with the same total giving of one’s self, are both done for Him.

Jesus never mentioned the size of our acts when he said,

“…’Amen I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’…” ( Matthew 25:40)

I underscored the key word for me in that passage: “whatever”.

Friend, don’t wait for the big-time opportunity to give. Today, you can give. Just make sure that when you do, you give with all the love you can muster.

Because for God, what matters is not the size of your projects, but the size of your hearts.

Have a blessed day!

I remain, your friend in Christ,

Bobby Q.

P.S. Let me take this opportunity to ask for your help for the that dear friend of mine who is presently comatose in the ICU. His family pays P12,000 a day for medicines alone and they’ve been there for two weeks now. I appeal for help in any way. You can comment to this posting if you are willing to give and I will correspond with you to make the necessary arrangements. Thank you and God be with you!

One thought on “The Size of Our Hearts

  1. Hi kuya Bob,

    Greetings from Daly City!

    I would like to thank you for always inspiring me & reminding me of giving my all to God. I been reading your sharings….wew! sapol talaga…tagos sa likod ba (-: your doing great bro….padayon!
    Could i possibly ask whose the one in the ICU? im interested to help, not that much pero sana makatulong. i dont have work here & hindi in pwede kasi nga tourist ako. i will be back home by May 15.
    Send my regards to mareng Jeng & kiss Robelle & Mara for me pls…

    Praying for you always,

    Myla

Leave a Reply

