The Caveat

February 20, 2008

“…You do not know what you are asking…” (Matthew 20:22)

Pregnant women are a totally unique specie. This was my friend’s conclusion after recounting to me his experience of his wife’s first pregnancy.

He recalls the time when at the height of his wife’s pregnancy, she woke him up in the middle of the night to ask him for grilled burgers. Grudgingly he obliged. After exploring every nook and cranny of the city trying to find a grilling burger joint that was open at 2am, he finally found one. As soon as he got his burgers, he immediately rushed home to recover his sleep. When he got home, his wife smiled apologetically at him and said, “Thanks sweetie. But I lost my appetite. Would you eat them for me instead?” Phew!

Pregnant women have one major concern: they don’t exactly know what they want.

One moment, they want grapes. The next moment they want green mangoes (and lots of bagoong please!). Sometimes they crave for ice cream, and sometimes they crave for lechon. There are times they want you always by their side, and sometimes they don’t even like the smell of you (Well, some who aren’t even pregnant don’t really like my smell at all. Ah but that’s another story.)

But what is true with pregnant women are also true with majority of humanity. Sometimes, we don’t really know what to ask for from God.

You pray for God to give you that handsome man to be your husband. Years after your wedding, you now complain to God for giving you a husband who snores mercilessly.

You pray for that high paying job. Then a year through the job you begin asking God for another job that wouldn’t be as stressful.

You pray for that visa only to go jobless abroad. Now, you pray for money just to pay for your fare back to the Philippines. 

Really. Do we actually know what we want?

The words of Jesus to the mother of the sons of thunder in today’s gospel can very well be addressed to us:

“…You do not know what you are asking…” (Matthew 20:22)

For indeed this is true. We don’t really know what we should pray for. Simply because we do not have the ability to see exactly what the future holds for us. Our limited vision of what lies ahead makes our prayers faulty and susceptible to mistakes.

Does that mean we should not pray for specific things anymore? Not so.

I think it is still good to pray for specific things. For that house and lot. For that promotion. For that child. For that healing. But at the end of each prayer, we must have a caveat (a legal term which means “notice” or “warning”).

We can say at the end of our petitions: “Lord, these are what I want. But please don’t give them to me if they won’t do my soul any good. Rather, give me what would be best for me given my circumstances.”

 Pray with me…

“God I know that you love me, and I trust your will. I will not pretend that I know better than you. I know that you know what is best for me and that whatever it is you allow in my life is always for my own good. Therefore, bring them on, Lord. I accept. Be it unto me according to your word…”.

One last thing: Don’t you ever wonder why pregnant women are not afraid to ask even if they know that they may change their mind later on?

Love. They know that they are asking from someone who loves them unconditionally. That even if they wake up their husband in the middle of the night to ask for grilled burgers, he won’t mind. Because he loves her. And nothing that she does will ever change that.

Now, multiply a million times the love of a husband for his wife. That’s how much God loves you.

Therefore, don’t be afraid to ask. But just don’t forget the caveat. It makes all the difference in the world.

Have a blessed day!

I remain, your friend in Christ,

Bobby Q.

2 thoughts on “The Caveat

  1. hello kuya bobby! I love this post. I can relate to it. Actually, its my first time to visit your site and see, God gave me the words I needed. Continue spreading His love, too 😉

    btw, I am a CYAer, hehe.

Leave a Reply

