As I Turn 35

February 25, 2008

“…More than that I consider everything as a loss because of the supreme good of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have accepted the loss of all things and I consider them so much rubbish, that I may gain Christ…” (Philippians 3:8)

As I turn 35 today, I couldn’t help but ask the question: who or what is my greatest treasure in this life?

Could it be my wife?

I watched her this morning with keen fondness as we had our common prayer time. Her smile. Her hair. Her voice. Gosh. After four years, I am still madly in love with this woman. Could she be my greatest treasure?

Or could it be my parents? 

I was the guest speaker during the 10th year anniversary of my parent’s charismatic community in Davao over the weekend. There, I got to spend a lot of time with two people I have known the longest in my life. They who changed my diapers before. Took me to elementary school. Taught me how to tie my shoelaces. Skin a bit wrinkled, and hair a little whiter, but they continue to be my pillars of strength. Could they be my greatest treasures in this life?

Or maybe my children?

I spent the whole day today with Robelle and Mara. I played “shark” with them at the pool. Then we had biking at the park. Lunch under the trees. Then some boating by the lagoon. My two daughters are simply adorable. I would die for them. Could they be my greatest treasures in this life?

As I turn 35 today, I deviate from the usual reflection I do on the daily gospel. Instead, I recall to mind my favorite bible verse:

“…More than that I consider everything as a loss because of the supreme good of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have accepted the loss of all things and I consider them so much rubbish, that I may gain Christ…” (Philippians 3:8)

Reading through it, I have found my answer.

Jeng, my parents, Robelle and Mara. I love them with my entire being. But when compared to the man on the cross, they only come second in my life.

Excuse me early today. I have to get dressed. I am going to mass…to spend time with the greatest treasure of my life.

God, thanks for 35 years of life!

I remain, yours in Christ,

Bobby Q.

3 thoughts on “As I Turn 35

  1. happy bday kuya bob! may God in His goodness continue to bless & provide for all your needs. your doing good, keep on pleasing God! Padayon igsoon!

    im praying for you always,

    myla

Leave a Reply

