My Direct Employer

July 10, 2008

“…Do not carry any gold, silver or copper in your  purses. Do not carry a traveler’s bag, or an extra shirt, or sandals, or walking stick: a worker deserves his living…” (Matthew 10:10)

They were just friends for less than a month and here she was, receiving a birthday gift from my 3-year old daughter. No wonder she had that look yesterday. The look of surprise. The look of awe. The look of gratitude. My daughter’s nursery school classmate didn’t expect such generosity from practically, a stranger.

The other night, I had that same look too.  

The man from across the desk handed the check to me. “Somebody wants you to have this. He said the Lord told Him to give this to you…eh for your ministry, I suppose…”

I gazed at the check with a stunned look. It was P10,000.00. No strings attached. No catch. Pure grace.

That’s the kind of life I’ve chosen.

A risky life. Where everyday you go out and preach not knowing exactly how you’re going to get the money to pay your bills next month, or where to source the funds to buy your groceries.

An exciting life. Where everyday you go out in hopeful anticipation of what new miracle God has in store for you. Where you are constantly thrilled of how God moves people to come to your aid.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not into fatalistic mentality. My wife and I, we plan. We make investments. We have insurance. We save. But at the end of the day, this life we’ve chosen is one that generally rests on faith in God’s provision.

And God, so far, hasn’t failed. Because this has been my story the past five months. I took a leap. And God caught me with a firm and solid grip.

Over the last few months was a tour of God’s manifold ways of blessing His servants. People offering to advance my expenses with a very generous payment scheme (as in “pay when able”). Job offers. Invitations to speak in their companies for a generous fee. Unexpected cash or check from an anonymous donor.

No wonder I was moved by what Jesus told His apostles today:

“…Do not carry any gold, silver or copper in your  purses. Do not carry a traveler’s bag, or an extra shirt, or sandals, or walking stick: a worker deserves his living…” (Matthew 10:10)

God provides for His missionaries. Then and now. He is my Direct Employer. He looks after my welfare. My worker’s wage comes from Him, and I am more than happy with this job.

I haven’t shortchanged myself when I decided to go into full time ministry work. I am serving the greatest employer in the entire universe. There is no better security than that.

Have a blessed day!

I remain, your friend in Christ,

Bobby Q.

P.S.

If in case the Lord moves you to support my ministry financially, please email me back through this blog. I will gladly accept my missionary “worker’s wage” from my Direct Employer.

2 thoughts on “My Direct Employer

  1. i totally agree w/ you kuya Bob…the Lord can never be outgiven in His generosity! padayon igsoon!

    my prayers are w/ you & your family!

    kita kits pagUwi ko

  2. brother bobby,

    thanks for the wonderful sharing, God indeed – the Greatest Provider, He knows exactly what you need and when you need something.
    I’m one of those RLTC delegates whom you have given training in teaching & preaching, God is so great coz He really speaks thru you.
    God bless bro!!!

    jhune marin
    Lingkod – Angeles

Leave a Reply

