Straight from your Heart

August 07, 2008

“…It is well for you, SImon Barjona, for it is not flesh or blood that has revealed this to you but my Father in Heaven…” Matthew 16:17

“Brother Bobby! Brother Bobby!”

I turned around to see who was calling me. It was one of my co-parents in my daughter’s pre-school. I recognized him as one of those who attended the Parents Spiritual Orientation I conducted for the PTA some weeks back.

When he finally caught up with me, he began to speak, “…I just want you to know, Brother Bobby, that I finally went to the sacrament of reconciliation after thirty years…”.  

A bit dazed, I tried to clarify, “What do you mean?”.

“I am back in the church,” he replied with a big smile (It was so big, he could swallow me in it).

“How?”, I queried further.

“Well, I did it for my children and for my wife. I did it for me too. I guess God has been convicting me in my heart the past year about returning to the church. It was just a few weeks ago when I decided to finally say ‘yes’ to God…”

I said my congratulations, chitchat a little and then said goodbye.

It happened yesterday, but it was only after I read today’s gospel when that event really hit me. God is really residing in our hearts. For how does one explain what happened to my co-parent. 

His story isn’t about powerful evangelistic rallies or seminars. Neither is it about a book which brought him to conversion. Or breaking down in tears after listening to a televangelist. No, his is a story of God’s direct intervention in the life of his son. God, speaking not through anyone else, but directly in the heart of a lost child. Listen to his words again, “God has been convicting me in my heart”.

Yes, God does that. He speaks directly. Without a mediator. Without a prophet. Without a mouthpiece. From his mouth to your heart. And he can do that because he has taken up residence in it. His address is your heart. His mailbox is right oustide its door. He is a permanent resident.

The same thing happened to Peter. When Jesus asked his disciples who they say he was, Peter’s knee-jerk reaction was to blurt out what his heart commanded. This was one of the few times perhaps when Peter’s impulsiveness was put to good use. God spoke to his heart, and Peter spoke from his heart.

“You are the Christ, Son of the Living God” (Matthew 17:15).

To which Jesus replied, “…It is well for you, SImon Barjona, for it is not flesh or blood that has revealed this to you but my Father in Heaven…” (Matthew 16:17)

Yep. No mediator. No prophet. No mouthpiece. Not flesh and blood. It was God directly speaking to Peter’s heart.

Today, I invite you listen to your heart. What does it say? God usually speaks from there. Remember, while Jesus is God with us, the Holy Spirit is God in us. So journey within your heart today. Listen closely to His voice. He guides. He commands. He comforts.

It’s God. Straight from your heart.

Have a blessed day!

In Christ, your friend always,

Bobby Q.

Leave a Reply

