God Isn’t Too Busy for You

“…Then Jesus stopped and ordered that he be brought to him…” (Luke 18:40)

All my weekends for November and December have been booked. I have retreats to conduct and talks to give. Well, all weekends except December 7. Guess what day that is?

Pacquiao v. De la Hoya.

You see, here in the Philippines, everything comes to a halt whenever Manny Pacquiao steps into the ring. Jeepney drivers take a break. Sunday golf is postponed. The beaches are empty. The roads are cleared. Simply because, no matter how busy, people make time for those things which matter to them.

I can attest to this.

My schedule has been crazy the past month now. Talks to give. Books to write. Meetings to attend. But I remember one day, while preparing for a talk, I heard my 2 year old daughter cry from the 2nd floor of our house. I recall how I dropped everything I was doing, no matter how pressed for time I was, rushed upstairs to attend to my daughter’s needs. As I said, no matter how busy, people can make time for those things which matter to them.

Same thing with God.

In today’s gospel, Jesus was terribly busy. Yet in the midst of his busyness, he still decided to drop what he was doing to attend to the needs of a blind beggar.

“…Then Jesus stopped and ordered that he be brought to him…” (Luke 18:40)

God will do the same thing for you.

Yes, He has a universe to manage, stars to keep aligned, and wars to prevent.

But never think for a minute that God has no time for you. For your house mortgage concerns. For your cancer. For your struggling marriage.

Even for your simple wants: for a taxi in the middle of the rain; for a deadline extension at work; for traffic to clear so you can get to your appointment on time.

Today, come to Him with your needs. Big and small alike. Let Him know where you are and what you want. Don’t hesitate. Don’t flinch. Don’t think twice.

Your God isn’t too busy for you. He has time for those who really, really matter to Him.

In Christ,

Bobby Q.

Leave a Reply

