Keep Moving Forward!

“…But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt…” (Genesis 19:26)

“Ang taong hindi marunong lumingon sa pinanggalingan ay di makakarating sa paroroonan.” , so goes the Filipino saying. I want to modify that a bit:

“Ang taong lingon ng lingon ay madadapa.”

 How many people do we know who keep looking back?

Regretful. Resentful. Remorseful.

Regretful. “I should not have entered that room with him.”

Resentful. “They accused me of a crime I didn’t commit.”

Remorseful. “God can never forgive me for that one.”

Sometimes, the past can be a prison cell. It traps you. It enchains you. It detains you. It locks you up and prevents you from getting on with your life. Even if God has already freed you from your past, you can still be enslaved by it. In a similar way, this was what happened to the wife of Lot…

Even when God already rescued them from his wrath which fell upon the land of Sodom, the wife of Lot still looked back. She stopped on her tracks and gazed at what she left behind.

“…But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt…” (Genesis 19:26)

For what reason she looked back, I don’t know. Perhaps out of regret. Or remorse. Or resentment. Perhaps to gloat over those who weren’t rescued. Whatever the reason was is of no importance. The fact remains, she looked back when God told her not to.

Last night, as I was driving along Quezon Avenue in dowtown Quezon City, I caught myself doing something really embarrassing: I was glancing at the different strip clubs that were lined up on both sides of the street. Good thing God gave me enough grace to look away. Then a scary thought hit me: After all these years of being a renewed Catholic, I still miss the days when I was indulging myself in promiscuous living. Despite the freedom I enjoy today, once in a while I still envy those who are enslaved by lust. In a way, just like Lot, I am constantly tempted to strain my neck and look back.

In the animation movie “Meet the Robinsons”, the slogan of Cornelius Robinson was “Keep moving forward”. I suggest we do the same. If we are to look back, let us do it only because of gratitude and to learn from our mistakes. Other than those, resist the temptation to glance over your shoulder. God has dealt with your past. He wants you to now focus on your future.

And let nothing, not even your past, get in your way!

Forward moving,

Bobby Q.

Leave a Reply

