My All for God’s Call

  “…Whoever loves father and mother more than me is not worthy of me…” (Matthew 10:37)

            It’s been three days now since I arrived in Davao to visit my dad who is presently confined in the hospital due to a heart failure. I set aside all my speaking engagements over the weekend to be with my father. It was my way of honoring him by showing his value in my life.

            My father is still in the hospital. He is still far from recovery. Tests will still be performed and decisions will still be made. The ordeal is still far from over. But tomorrow, I am scheduled to fly back to Manila. So why should I be going back to Manila despite the situation?

            Because I believe that’s what God wants me to do. And I need to be where He calls me to be. His call brought me home to Davao over the weekend. And it is His call that will make me board that plane back to Manila tomorrow. And I will do it with a heavy heart. But the gospel today is pretty clear:

            “…Whoever loves father and mother more than me is not worthy of me…” (Matthew 10:37)

            Many priests and pastors avoid preaching about this passage. Too risky. Too threatening. Too complicated. But the message is simple: Not that you shouldn’t love your family, but that your love for them must never be more than your love for God. At the end of the day, God’s call is what matters.

            In any major decision you make, the main determining factor should be God. Not your emotions or your practicality because God can speak through both. Rather, the main question you should answer must be: What does God want me to do given the situation?

          Balance your emotions with practicality, and then make a decision based on God’s will. In this way, you will be able to love God above all.

            I am a missionary, a preacher. I am called to do God’s mission in season and out of season…in good times and in bad.  I am also a husband. I have a pregnant wife needing my care and attention in Manila. I am also a father with three children to feed and pastor back there. These by themselves are part of God’s missionary call for my life.

          Today, I prayed to God that as I go home to Manila tomorrow to continue His mission, that He would take care of my dad. I take care of His people, and He takes care of the people I love. I followed this formula all these years and God has never failed me.

            Why should this time be any different?

            Please pray for me. Thanks!

            Struggling to give my all to God’s call,

            Bobby

One thought on “My All for God’s Call

Leave a Reply

