God-Made Bypass

“…Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light…” (Matthew 11:29-30)

Definition of Bypass: A passage created surgically to divert the flow of blood or other bodily fluid or to circumvent an obstructed or diseased organ. (www.freedictionary.com)

“…We saw a God-made bypass in your father’s heart…”.

These were the words of the doctors who performed an angiogram test on my father yesterday. From my limited understanding of medicine, the doctors seemed surprised to see a blood vessel branching out from the right side of my father’s heart directing blood flow towards the left side. According to them, this somehow saved my father from a sure-fire heart attack earlier. You see, the right part of his heart is clogged. But by some miracle, the heart, on its own, created a diversion for blood to flow to the other side of the heart. This diversion, in a sense, kept him alive, perhaps, the past year or so. When blood had nowhere else to go on the right part of his heart, God made a way…literally!

Isn’t this true with life in general? God does the same for us.

When we hit a blank wall, God makes a way out.

When we reach a deadend, God provides a diversion.

When we  have nowhere else to go, God shows the way to go.

In a sense, God makes a “bypass” for us.

My father will still have to undergo a bypass operation next week because by this time, the left part of his heart is already clogged. But without the “God-made bypass”, he could’ve suffered a more fatal heart attack earlier and things could’ve been worst.

Same thing in life.

Sometimes, God will not spare us from the challenges and difficulties of everyday life. But He will give us enough “bypasses” to allow us to make our burdens light. Sure, you may be unemployed. Or undergoing trouble with your marriage. Or suffering from loneliness. Or even pain. But think about it. Without God, things could be worse.

That’s why the Gospel today says:

“…Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light…” (Matthew 11:29-30)

No wonder Jesus is called the greatest physician who ever walked the earth. He performed “bypasses” earlier than anyone else.

All glory to God,

Bobby

3 thoughts on “God-Made Bypass

Leave a Reply

