Tagapagtawid

“…Then Moses stretched out his hand over the sea, and the Lord swept the sea with a strong east wind throughout the night and so turned it into dry land…” (Exodus 14:21)

There is no English translation that can capture the full impact of this word: Tagapagtawid.

“Tagapagtawid” can be translated to “the one who carries across”.

Soft. Lame. Inaccurate.

But even without the English translation, perhaps the Israelites will have no problem grasping the full meaning of that word. Why? They experienced first hand what it means to be carried by God across the raging sea.

Behind them was the entire army of Egypt waiting to pounce on them. In front of them was the stormy sea waiting to devour them. Literally, they found themselves in between the devil (Pharaoh) and the deep blue (or Red) sea! In 0ther words, it was a no-win situation, a tight fix, a nowhere to go, back against the wall, go-ahead-kill-me-anyway type of situation. And when they were about to give up, God came through.

“…Then Moses stretched out his hand over the sea, and the Lord swept the sea with a strong east wind throughout the night and so turned it into dry land…” (Exodus 14:21)

How many of us find ourselves in a similar situation as the Israelites?

 How many of us are in between two not-so-good choices?

How many of us have run out of options?

May it be in terms of career, or business, or relationships, or even health, I know that at some point in our lives, we may have encountered a situation like that. Or maybe you are going through one like that now. I know I am…

Just this week, the doctors gave my dad very few options for survival. Bypass, andioplasty or medical management. In all three, the risks are high. And the family will have to make that difficult choice of what course to take this week.

During my prayers this morning, I was honest with God. “Lord,” I said, “I don’t like the options I have. I am tired. I am scared. Tell me. What must I do?”. Then as I read the first reading, I felt God speaking to my heart:

“…You are never out of options”, He said, “Don’t you remember? I am on your side. I will always be your best option.”

The Israelites realized this as soon as Moses stretched out his hands.

Their eyes watered as the waters dried up. A path appeared where there was none. A way out. An exit door. Yes, He carried them through the waters, on dry land and across to the other side. He was “Tagapagtawid”! He carried them across!

My confidence is this: What He did to them, He can do to me.

You know what? He can do the same for you.

He will carry you through that pain. Or that loneliness. Or that emptiness. Or that fear. Or that stormy relationship. Or that health concern. Or that financial situation.

He is “Tagapagtawid”. He will carry you across.

Today, surrender to him all your challenges, fears and dreams. And as you see the sea slowly part before you, close your eyes and take that step.

Behold! You are stepping on dry land.

Glad to be carried across,

Bobby

Leave a Reply

