Sowing and Growing

“…The one who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed and increase the harvest of your righteousness…”(2 Corinthians 9:10)

My first attempt at planting was a disaster.

It was in elementary when we were first taught how to plant. They gave us one of the easiest seeds to grow: mongo seeds. We were told that all we needed were five essential things — a small glass jar, newspaper sheets soaked in water, mongo seeds, sunlight and a disciplined attitude.The last on the list happens to be the most important. Somehow, it made all the difference. Let me tell you what I mean…

After a month from the time we started our little experiment, our teacher inspected our respective projects. My classmates did a fantastic job with theirs. Healthy-looking mongo plants sprouted arrogantly from their respective glass jars. My project, on the other hand, was pitiful. Not a single seed I planted sprouted. Not a single mongo plant grew. I sat on the corner dejected. I was crushed. I was bitter. It was only years later when I realized my folly. You see, my classmates were consistently watering their plants everyday. It didn’t matter if they couldn’t see tangible results yet. They just kept doing the right thing. I, on the other hand, wasn’t as faithful. I skipped days. Made excuses. I often gave in to the lie that for as long as I trust nature, it will grow by itself.

Good thing, I learned my lessons earlier. Today, I know better. Man works, God provides. Man does the sowing, God allows the growing. Man waters, God nourishes.

As a missionary, I see these lessons replayed before me very often.

I have witnessed young people grow into spiritual maturity in a span of a year because of their faithfulness to daily prayer and service.

I have seen prayer groups flourish in number even after only a few years of being together because of the leader’s dedication to his task.

I have encountered righteous Christians climbing dramatically the corporate ladder in only a short period of time because of their unquestionable integrity and admirable hardwork.

Truly, God does His part. It is if often we who fail to do ours.

As the bible today says:

“…The one who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed and increase the harvest of your righteousness…”(2 Corinthians 9:10)

Today, I encourage you to never give up doing what you need to do. Even if the results are not yet evident. Even if the fruit is not yet there. Even if frustrating. Even if disheartening. Just keep doing your part. In God’s time, you will see  mongo plants sprouting from your jar.

I remain,

Bobby Q.

One thought on “Sowing and Growing

  1. i agree with that bro…it will help on us in lingkod cavite, especially we held a clp…

    thanks and God bless bro.

Leave a Reply

