The Need to Rest

“…At daybreak, Jesus left and went to a deserted place…”( Luke 4: 42)

Bro. Mon Samson, the dynamic National Director of Ang Lingkod ng Panginoon used to kid me, “Bro, mas busy ka pa kay Jesus ah…” (“Bro, you’re busier than Jesus…”).

Funny, but sometimes, I think he is right.

Let me run down for you all my present commitments:

I am a covenanted member of Ligaya ng Panginoon. I am its head for evangelization and a district head in training. I am a regional director of Ang Lingkod ng Panginoon. I am the small group leader of some of the leaders of our youth movement. I am a trustee of the Word of Joy Foundation. I am Chief Executive Officer of my own company Lampstand Inspirations, Co.. I am a consultant of several Charismatic communities. I am part of an emerging “soft-evangelization” ministry. I am a regular author of inspirational books. I am a legal ethics lecturer. I am a university legal counsel of the University of the Philippines. I am Of Counsel of a law firm with a growing number of clients. On top of all these, I am a husband, a father, a son, and a brother.

Now, I know Jesus was a lot busier than me. (He was trying to save the world, right?) But here’s the difference, Jesus knew when and how to slow down.

I don’t.

In today’s Gospel, Jesus INTENTIONALLY withdrew from His crowd to rest:

“…At daybreak, Jesus left and went to a deserted place…”( Luke 4: 42).

Slowing down is important not just for physical rehabilitation. More importantly, it is also very good for the mind and the soul.

It gives you perspective. To see what is important in life. To be reminded of what truly matters.

It gives you focus. To zoom in only on those things which help you reach your most noble dreams and aspirations.

It gives you bearing. To stabilize in the midst of tension. To remain firm in the midst of pressure.

It gives you peace. To know what you can and cannot change, and be contented with this knowledge.

Dear reader, if you are the workaholic type, the type who feels guilty when he/she rests, I encourage you to find time to slow down this week. Rest is a weapon. You emerge from it stronger and better.

Just like Jesus, you need rest in order to change your world.

I remain restful,

Bobby Q.

One thought on “The Need to Rest

  1. Hi Kuya Bob,

    I’m a member of the SECO in CYA-UPD, and a reader of your blog from time to time. Thank you so much for the many inspirations you bring… Thank you for letting God speak to me through your words… 🙂
    God bless 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Janice

Leave a Reply

