The Fuel of Faithfulness

“…Then he said to the disciple, ‘Behold, your mother’. And from that hour the disciple took her into his home.” (John 19:27)

“Sir Bob, the boss wants you to accompany him to a meeting in the province this weekend. And he wants you to be the one to handle the official purse of the delegation.”

Those were the words of the secretary of my boss years ago, Atty. Simeon V. Marcelo, the then Ombudsman of the Republic of the Philippines.

Hearing this, I was closed to hyperventilating. A bit woozy, I perspired heavily. My collar tightened. I felt butterflies in my stomach. Why did I react that way? Well, anybody would, when honored with such a privilege.

I was really humbled by the trust my boss gave me. You see, he had all the reasons not to do what he did.

First, I was young. The last you want to do is to entrust money to a young person. He just might squander it.

Second, I was a member of a rival school fraternity. I can make my boss look bad in public by not taking care of the money he entrusted to me.

Third, I am terrible with numbers. I don’t like them and they don’t like me. So it would be extra challenge for me to keep an accounting of our expenses.

But despite all these, my boss chose to trust me. And when you are given such trust, the only thing you can do is to reward that trust by giving your best in doing your task.  

That’s what I did. And I believe that was what John the Disciple did too.

In today’s gospel, Jesus entrusted to John a very daunting task: the care of His mother.

“…Then he said to the disciple, ‘Behold, your mother’. And from that hour the disciple took her into his home.” (John 19:27)

For why else would Jesus give His most precious mother to someone unless He really trusts that person? Jesus trusted John. And John tried his best to honor Jesus’ trust by living up to his obligation.

Let us, therefore, learn from John.

Look at your hands. What has God placed there? Isn’t it the case that God has entrusted you with so much in this life? 

If you are a parent, you are entrusted by God with that child.

If you are a businessman, you are entrusted by God with that business.

If you are a teacher, you are entrusted by God with those students.

If you are a priest or pastor, you are entrusted by God with that church.

If you are a human being, you are entrusted by God with this planet.

And just like John, we ought to do our best to honor this trust.

Let us be faithful to what God has called us to do. Let His trust drive you to be the best that you can be. Let His trust inspire you to give your all. Let His trust encourage you to fulfill your task day in and day out.

Yes, let His trust fuel your faithfulness, now and until the very end!

Bobby Q.

Leave a Reply

