When God is at His Best

“He must increase; I must decrease.” (John 3:30)

Four months ago, Jeng and I were resigned to the possibility that we would lose our son Franco through a miscarriage.

Going into her 5th month of pregnancy, Jeng had profused bleeding and I had to rush her to the hospital twice in a span of 2 weeks. The bleeding was so strong that I was almost sure that Franco would not survive. But it is in times like these — when one faces a blank wall — when God is at His best. 

Just when I was on the brink of total resignation, God spoke to my heart “Trust me. I will bring your son Franco to full term.”

I said “Lord, I turn the situation over to you. You know what’s best for my son.”

When you are confronted with your limitations, God’s limitlessness surfaces. When you are confronted with your weakness, God’s strength is revealed. When you are confronted with you helplessness, God’s rescuing power comes through.

So what is the best thing to do when you find yourself in this situation? You step aside and make way for God.

In a sense, you will be better off mouthing the words of John in todays’ gospel:

“He must increase; I must decrease.” (John 3:30)

 And that was exactly what I did. I became less controlling of the situation and surrendered it to God. I became less self-reliant, and became God-reliant. I became less centered on myself, and became more centered on God. I quietly took the backseat, and gave up the wheel to God.

And God, as always, did not disappoint.

Yesterday marked Jeng’s 36th week of pregnancy. Franco, indeed, reached full term!

My dear friend, are you facing a blank wall? Of mounting debts or a struggling marriage? Of enslaving addictions or crippling weaknesses? Of fearful diagnosis or woeful failures?

Turn over the situation to God. Trust me. It is in times like these when we are at our worst when God is at His best.

Take the backseat. Sit back. Relax.

With God on the wheel, everything will be perfectly all right!

Decreasing every minute,

Bobby Q.

One thought on “When God is at His Best

  1. 2Corinthians 12:9 – “…’My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’….”

    Indeed, God is faithful to those who put there trust in Him!

Leave a Reply

