Holy Thursday Reflection:Never Too Dirty for A God Who Loves

“Unless I wash you, you will have no inheritance with me.” (John 13:8)

I have a question for you: If your car breaks down, do you fix it first before bringing it to the car shop?

I don’t think so. Because once you fix it, you don’t need to bring it to the shop, right? It’s just logical.

Unfortunately, what is logical in practical life isn’t so practical for most people when it comes to the spiritual life. Let me tell you what I mean…

Some people refuse to go back to God unless they first fix their life. They say:

“I can’t attend that bible study. Let me fix my marriage first.”; or

“I don’t want to join that prayer group unless I am able to give up this bad habit.”; or

“I don’t want to go to mass without first turning away from this sin”.

Some people have this notion that the church is only for the holy and the righteous.  That unless you get your act together, you are not welcome in church. That you need to have a “bad habit-free” life before you can go back to God.

They got it all wrong.

Go back to God first and He will help you fix your life. That, my dear friends, is the proper sequence.

Take the case of the apostles in today’s gospel. 

Jesus didn’t wait for the apostles to clean their feet before He decided to wash them. No, Jesus chose to wash their feet at their dirtiest and filthiest state. Why? To remind us that what he did to their feet, He can do with our souls.

No matter how dirty. No matter how filthy. No matter how soiled. If we turn to God this Holy Week, He can cleanse our souls, purify our hearts and give us all a fresh start.

Jesus said:  

“Unless I wash you, you will have no inheritance with me.”(John 13:8)

Go ahead. Admit your shortfalls. Repent of your sins. Resolve to do better. Re-dedicate your life to God.

Remember, just like the apostle’s feet, your soul is never too dirty for a God who loves!

A blessed Holy Thursday!

Bobby Q.

Leave a Reply

