God’s Design, Your Destiny

“…He saved us and called us to a holy life, not according to our works, but according to his own design…” (2 Timothy 1:9)

In one of the seminars that I give, I usually demonstrate what happens when we use a gadget for a purpose contrary to its design. For instance, if we use a ruler to drive a nail through a wood, chances are we will destroy the ruler. Why? Simply because a ruler is not designed to pound on a nail. Rather, it is designed for a special purpose — to measure.

Same thing with ourselves.

I believe each one of us has been designed by God to fulfill a special purpose in this life. And that is why when a person uses his life for a purpose other than what God has designed him for, he has a tendency to waste it or destroy it.

Paul, in today’s first reading, expressed it well when he said:

“…He saved us and called us to a holy life, not according to our works, but according to his own design…” (2 Timothy 1:9)

To be “holy” means to be “set apart”. Hence, taking a cue from Paul’s words, God set us apart for a purpose according to the way He designed us. In a sense, we get a clue of what God called us to do in this life by analyzing how God made us.

For instance, if you are good with numbers, chances are God wants you to be an accountant.

If you are exceptionally gifted in the area of music, it may be that God wants you to be a musician.

If you are physically agile, maybe a career in athletics will suit you perfectly.

If you are analytical, perhaps you will shine as a teacher or a lawyer.

If you are good with people, maybe a managerial post that would require you to motivate people to their highest potentials will be a good job for you.

In other words, God’s design of us gives us a clue of our destiny.

In my case, God made me a good communicator. Early on as a child, I felt that God set me apart for this purpose. I enjoyed public speaking, joined oratorical contests, and wrote essays. Today, whenever I preach before a crowd, I sense the overflowing joy of the Lord. And when I write my books, I know my God smiles at me.

How about you, dear reader?

Are you doing what God called you to do? Are you using your life in accordance with how God made you? Are you fulfilling your destiny according to God’s design?

Think of that today and see…maybe you’re a ruler not meant to pound on a nail.

Bobby Q.

Leave a Reply

