Faulty Prayers, Perfect Answers

The quality of my prayers isn’t remarkable. In fact, sometimes they even border on the pathetic. They are weak, self-centered, and often too general. With my lack of faith, my prayers even mimic closely Aladdin’s wish list to his genie or a facebook/twitter shout-out — hoping somebody out there is listening. Yes, I am not proud of how I pray.

But I am thankful that my God sees beyond my weaknesses. He listens beyond my words. He hears not what my mouth utters but what my heart cries. He understands more than what I try to explain. He feels more than what I express. He knows more than what I tell Him. And that is why He answers, not according to how I pray, but according to what He believes is best for me.

If you are an average and struggling believer like me, then you know what I mean.

When we pray for physical healing, God delays and uses our illness to bring spiritual healing to our souls. When we pray for financial windfall, God waits awhile and uses our need to build up our faith. When we pray for instant solutions, God dilly dallies a little and uses our predicament to address other areas of our life.

Some people give up too soon. They feel that their prayers are defective or unheard. They shrink back. They give up. They backpedal and turn away. They look down instead of look up. They seek worldly solutions in place of God’s dispositions.

They soon stop praying.

Today, remind yourself of the height, depth and width of God’s unfathomable wisdom. Our prayers may be faulty, but our God, who knows us more than we know ourselves, understands perfectly the meat of what we pray for. In fact, even before we open our mouths, God already comprehends what’s in our hearts. Let us not grow weary in praying to God then. No matter how tiring or frustrating it may be at times. Let us trust that a loving God listens and a powerful God answers, in His perfect time and according to His perfect will.

The bible says:

“…The Lord is near: do not be anxious about anything. In everything resort to prayer and supplication together with thanksgiving and bring your requests before God. Then the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will keep your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus…” (Philippians 4:5-7)

Go ahead, dear friend. Close those eyes. Bend down those knees. Bow down that head. And lift up those hands.

Perfect answers await your faulty prayers.

A blessed week ahead of you!

In Christ,

Bobby

One thought on “Faulty Prayers, Perfect Answers

Leave a Reply

