First Things First

If there is one thing you can do that you think would make the biggest difference in your life, what would it be?

For sure, many will mention exercise. Others, perhaps the giving up of certain bad habits. Still others will insist on their work ethics. While most of these things are good to do, they may not be the biggest difference maker in your life. May I venture a suggestion?

                Try DAILY, FOCUSED AND PERSONAL PRAYER.

I am reminded of the story of that person who woke up one morning to find his house flooded because he left the faucet on the whole night. Immediately, he started mopping the floor. His neighbour who came by to help him asked him why he is mopping the floor without first the turning off the faucet. His reply was a classic: I am so busy mopping the floor, I have no time to turn off the faucet.

Ridiculous, eh?

First things first: Turn off the faucet, then start mopping the floor. In that way, your efforts will not be wasted.

In life, many people are no different.

The moment they wake up in the morning, instead of quieting down to pray, they immediately roll up their sleeves and work. “Time is gold”, they say. So they step on the gas pedal and begin to labor tirelessly the whole day. At the end of the day, they end up exhausted and totally drained.

May I suggest a different approach?

Try “turning off the faucet first before mopping the floor”. First things first: Pray. Find a quiet place to sit and reflect. Get in touch with your heart and your soul. Converse with your Maker. Enthrone Him as your King. Remind yourself that your life isn’t yours but His. That because it’s His, He will take good care of it. That nothing will happen to you today that He has not ordained. That nothing will take place today that you and He cannot overcome. Give Him your dreams. Offer Him your struggles. Ask Him for His strength.

Thirty minutes of powerful re-charging is more productive than 24 hours of powerless labor.

Nothing is more true in my own life.

In almost two decades of following the Lord, I realized that my day is more productive when I take time to really pray before I begin my work. When I get to the office, I smile more easily. When pressing deadlines leap from my desk, I don’t panic as much. I am more confident. My thoughts, words and deeds become more purposive and thus, more efficient. I am more focused, my energies directed into what I seek to accomplish. Time isn’t wasted. Doors open. Opportunities beckon. My words — more powerful. My motives– more pure. My efforts — more fruitful.  Good people are drawn to me. Bad people repelled. Challenges shrink as the day progresses. Faith increases by the hour. I am more positive, more at peace, more productive.

The reason? I did first things first. I prayed. And everything else just fell in place.

This week, try to be more consistent. Take prayer more seriously. Not on the go. Not fleetingly. Not in the midst of multi-tasking. But quiet, deep and personal time of uninterrupted prayer.

Remember this: When you place importance in what’s important to God, He takes care of what’s important to you!

I remain, your servant in Christ,

Bobby Q.

4 thoughts on “First Things First

  1. Great reflection bro Bob! Thanks for writing about how we should protect our time with the Lord before anything else. Shared your blog to my friends!

Leave a Reply

