Secret of Contentment

A young man who was very dissatisfied with his life once asked a very old, poor and sickly man, “You seem so happy despite your condition. What do you make of all these bad luck?”

The old man looked at him and said: “Bad luck? What bad luck? That I am not as rich as before which means I have a great opportunity to rely on God now more than ever? That I am not as healthy as before that my family has been given a reason to come together and visit me daily? That I am not as strong as before which means I will soon see my Lord face to face? Tell me, young man, what bad luck are you referring to?”

Perspective. It all makes a difference when it comes to finding contentment in life.

St. Paul said:

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” (Philippians 4:12)

Please don’t misunderstand me. Contentment does not mean resignation to your situation. 

Resignation is a defeatist perspective. Contentment is a victorious perspective.

Resignation sees what’s wrong in every situation. Contentment is seeing what can be right in it.

Resignation is giving up. Contentment is looking up.

Resignation says “this is it”. Contentment says “the best is yet to come”.

Resignation is founded on insecurity in what you haven’t accomplished. Contentment is founded on gratitude on what God continues to accomplish in you.

Look at your situation now, my friend. Could it be possible that this is one of the greatest blessings in your life today if only you have the right perspective of it?

Learn from the old man in my story. For a Christian, there is no such thing as bad luck.

All it takes is the right perspective.

A blessed week ahead!

In Christ,

Bobby Q. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

