FIT FOR HEAVEN

During my fortieth birthday yesterday, in my prayer time, I asked the Lord how He would want me to spend the next forty years of my life assuming I get to live until eighty years old.

Would He want me to work on expanding the global scope of my preaching ministry?

Would He want me to work on building more Christian communities internationally?

Would He want me to work on expanding my evangelistic reach through television, internet and other forms of media?

Would He want me to work on my dream of building a school refuge for streetchildren?

Would He want me to work on evangelizing the legal profession more?

Would He want me to work on writing more inspirational books?

But God’s answer made me cringe in shame.

He spoke to my heart saying:

“In the next forty years of life, I want you to work on making yourself fit for heaven. Prepare your soul eternity.”

Tears streamed down my cheeks as the truth of God’s love dawned me.

God wants me more than what I do for Him. He is after my salvation more than my service. He wants to see me not so much preaching in other lands but worshipping in the “land of lands”.

Today, I commit myself to making myself ready to see Him face to face someday. To prepare myself for eternity. To work hard at making myself more fit for heaven. By His grace. By His power. By His Spirit.

In the midst of all our earthly pre-occupation, may we never lose sight of what lies beyond the grave. Where grace is abundant. Where joy is unending. Where peace never ends.

Where God’s overwhelming love, in “good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap…” (Luke 6:38)

Bobby Q.Image

Leave a Reply

