OUR STORMS ARE HIS

Ten years ago on this day was our wedding day. During the wedding mass, the officiating priest said, “Today, we are to wed three persons…”.

“Three?!”, I wondered. (Secretly, I looked around the church to see if any of my or Jeng’s past flings might be in attendance.)

“Bob and Jeng,” our priest-friend continued. “God is part of this union.”

(“Whew! That’s a relief!”, I said to myself.)

Today, I look back at the ten years of marriage that we’ve had and I gasped with awe. What our priest-friend said was true in more ways than one.

I remember…

When Jeng spent 14 hours in labor because our eldest Robelle had a cord coil, God held my head up…

When we lost our second child through a miscarriage, God wrapped His arms around me as I wept on the floor of the hospital chapel…

When we had close to 6 hospitalizations in one year for various illnesses, God found a way not only to replenish but even double our bank account…

When I chose to be a missionary, God gave us conviction…

When funds were running low, God met our needs…

When we needed help through three house transfers in 10 years, God moved people to volunteer to assist us…

When Jeng had to spend 5 months on complete bed rest due to profuse pregnancy bleeding, God steadied my faith…

When faith was waning, God painted not just one but two rainbows in the sky to remind us of His promises…

When beset with worries, God was our peace.

Through it all, I am more than sure of this: Our storms were likewise His.

He carried us. Moved us. Planted us. Watered us. And blessed us in ways beyond imagination.

Today, November 8, 2013, one of the strongest typhoons to hit this planet is presently barreling its way through our country. Dear friends, let’s be brave.

God will shield us and carry us through.

Remember, our storms are likewise His.

Leave a Reply

