THE PRICE OF LEADERSHIP

In the first reading today, David committed the sin of pride. Because of this, his people began to suffer. Then David said to God:

“It is I who have sinned; it is I, the shepherd, who have done wrong.But these are sheep; what have they done? Punish me and my kindred.” (2 Samuel 24:17)

Sounds to me like a logical complaint, don’t you think so?

Yet what David forgot was the price of leadership. Because of the authority and power that goes with being a leader, a leader’s faults will have consequences in the lives of the people he leads.

Today, I implore all people in positions of leadership (e.g. fathers, corporate leaders, church leaders, political leaders etc) to live lives worthy of their titles. Your action or inaction has far-reaching consequences.

On our part, let’s choose our leaders well.

And let’s pray for our leaders too.

For while there is great privilege in leadership, the price of it is much greater than you can ever imagine.

Published by Bobby Quitain

I am a lawyer, an inspirational author, motivational speaker, a law professor and a family man. I have four loves: 1. My God 2. My wife Jeng 3. My four children Robelle, Mara, Franco and Marco My greatest joy, however, is to see people encounter our loving God the way I did years ago. Today, I live in Quezon City, Philippines with my wife and four children.

Leave a comment